## Extracts from Council Meeting C#08-24 held April 10, 2024 Confirmatory By-law 45-24

## 15. Committee and Staff Reports

- 15.1 Minutes Committee of the Whole Meeting CW#05-24 held April 3, 2024
  - 15.1.10 Member Motion Councillor Cilevitz Extension of the Deadline for Listed Non-Designated Heritage Properties (CW Item 12.1)

Moved by: Councillor Shiu Seconded by: Councillor Cilevitz

Whereas, subsection 27(16) of the *Ontario Heritage Act* stipulates that any non-designated heritage property listed on the municipal register of properties as of December 31, 2022 shall be removed from the municipal register on or <u>before January 1</u>, 2025, if the council of the municipality does not give a notice of intention to designate the property under subsection 29(1) of the *Ontario Heritage Act* on or <u>before January 1</u>, 2025; and

Whereas, since January 1, 2023, municipal staff and members of the municipal heritage committee in the City of Richmond Hill have been working to review the municipal heritage register, research the heritage value and interest of listed (non-designated) properties, review and research the heritage value and interest of non-designated properties, determine which properties should potentially be designated in accordance with the provisions of Section 29 of the *Ontario Heritage Act*, and take all required steps to designate such properties; and

Whereas, the above-noted work involving 235 listed properties in the City of Richmond Hill is extremely time-consuming and cannot be completed by <u>December 31, 2024</u>.

Now therefore be it resolved.

That Council for the City of Richmond Hill requests the Government of Ontario to amend Subsection 27(16) of the *Ontario Heritage Act* to extend the above-noted deadline for five years from January 1, 2025 to January 1, 2030; and



## Extracts from Council Meeting C#08-24 held April 10, 2024 Confirmatory By-law 45-24

That the Clerk be directed to send a copy of this Resolution to the Honourable Doug Ford, Premier of the Province of Ontario; the Honourable Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism; Richmond Hill MPP Daisy Wai; Aurora - Oak Ridges - Richmond Hill MPP Michael Parsa; AMO; and all Ontario municipalities.

**Carried Unanimously**